

## New Hampshire Individual Health Plan Benefit Association 2022 Annual Meeting of Members

The annual meeting of the members of the above-named New Hampshire voluntary association ("the Association") was held via Zoom conferencing at 9:30 a.m., on Thursday June 9, 2022. All the members who participated were present via Zoom conferencing or by personal representative throughout the meeting. David Ellis, Chairperson of the Board, presided. J. Michael Degnan was named secretary pro tem and kept the record of the meeting.

The minutes from the 2021 Annual Meeting of Members were reviewed and upon a motion by Steve Phillips and a second by Kate Skouteris, it was unanimously,

# **VOTED:** to approve the June 10, 2021 Annual Meeting of Members minutes as presented.

Mr. Degnan was appointed teller to receive and count the proxies. Mr. Degnan reported the tally of the proxies as follows:

	Total Votes entitled to be cast	Total Votes present or represented by Proxy	Voting Power needed for Quorum (50% of Total Votes entitled to be cast)	Voting Power needed for action by the members (>50% of Total Votes present or represented by proxy)	Votes cast In favor
Representatives of Group Insurers	1,322,549	938,787	661,275	469,394	Total 895,216 (67.7%)
Representatives of Individual Insurers	193,145	192,552	96,573	96,276	Total 192,510 (99.8%)

Mr. Degnan then reported that all proxy cards had been marked to vote in accordance with the recommendation of the Board of Directors. Consequently, Mr. Degnan reported that the following individuals would be nominated as recommended by the Board of Directors.

#### Group Carriers

Anthem – Steve Phillips – 20% CIGNA – New Hampshire – David Ellis – 20% Harvard Pilgrim – Kate Skouteris – 20% Tokio Marine HCC – Bradley Long – 20% United Healthcare – Gregg Daly – 20%

#### Individual Carriers

NH Healthy Families - Christopher Kennedy - 100%

Mr. Degnan reviewed the NHHP carrier assessments based on 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter of 2021 filings to determine the number of votes of each eligible carrier based on covered lives.

Mr. McCue noted that based upon the data in the report of covered lives from the 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter of 2020, Anthem and Harvard Pilgrim would be eligible under the enabling statute (RSA 404-G:4, V(a)) and the Association's Bylaws to elect to move into the hybrid category because it had sufficient covered lives in both group and individual markets to elect Board representatives in each of those categories. Based upon the report of covered lives governing the election, United Healthcare (Gregg Daly) and Tokio Marine HCC (Bradley Long) then would become the next carriers eligible and willing to serve to fill the group carrier seats vacated by Anthem and Harvard Pilgrim's election to move into the hybrid category.

Accordingly, pursuant to the proxies described above, the Secretary, Ms. Martha McLeod, cast all votes representing Group Carriers in favor of electing the following members of the Board of Directors of this Association:

Representing Group Carriers: David Ellis (CIGNA) Gregg Daly (United Healthcare) Bradley Long (Tokio Marine HCC) Hybrid Carrier: Steve Phillips (Anthem) Kate Skouteris (Harvard Pilgrim)

Pursuant to the proxies described above, Ms. McLeod then cast all votes representing Individual Carriers in favor of electing the following member of the Board of Directors of this Association:

### **Representing Individual Carriers**: Christopher Kennedy (NH Healthy Families)

In addition to the Insurance Commissioner's representative, David Sky, the remaining members of the Association's Board of Directors, Bruce King, David Trudo and Martha McLeod, are appointed and continue to serve on the Board of Director's until resignation or the revocation of their appointment. David Sky did inform the members that effective on June 30, 2022, he will be retiring from the Insurance Department. The Department has informed Mr.

Degnan that Michelle Heaton will be replacing Mr. Sky as the Commissioner's representative effective July 1, 2022

There being no further business to come before the meeting, it was adjourned at 9:44 a.m.

Attest:

J. Michael Degnan Secretary Pro Tem